Make Your Own Sense

Posted on Tuesday, 11 March, 2008 by

0


So much to read, hard to keep up with the new blogs, books, sites tagged by fellows, and projects. For me, blogging is not about being a thought leader, not even about being a pointer to resources or current debates. It is to make my own sense of the world. Making your own sense common.

As I want to restructure my blogs, I have been thinking about blogging. I have been looking at other consultants blogs. In KM consultants blogs, the tension between blogging for (1) sensemaking; blogging for (2) community strengthening or (3) for getting more work, remains.

(1) Sensemaking can be very individual, or peer-assisted sensemaking; personal archiving and writing about thoughts, floating ideas;
(2) Strengthening (your belonging in) a community you are part of; writing about domain or community stuff;
(3) Attracting or generating potential clients or potential projects to work on; writing what you currently do, demonstrating, opening up.

I know examples of purebreds of all three, but actually the purebreds are rare and most blogs are somewhere in the middle, alternating and / or mixing. Maybe the tension can be worded as the basic question: why do you blog? for personal learning, for a stronger community, or for getting jobs. The answer, i guess, is: It depends where you get the value from.

Every time I speak to real-world-people I realize how few are reading blogs, how few know tagging or rss. There is *no* overlap between friends I first met off line and friends I met online. None. I have met many online friends in real life, but have not been able to introduce off-line friends to web2.0. I keep trying, but after years, my rule-to-go-by is: /In real life, people do not read blogs.  /

And one of the effects of “being-read-mostly-by-likeminded” (web2.0 literates) is that you start to write for them. That is becoming where you get most feedback, most value from.

My very visible dairy community blog (example of no. 2) gets less comments than this blog, (example of no. 1) which I have often tried to somewhat obscure. I have experienced the use of a blog as a sense making instrument. I have returned to it and value it. Also, I would like to find ways for getting more work.

Earlier, I did not expect that those who might be interested in hiring me, or those in my different communities, to also be interested in the intricacies and longwindedness of my personal learning; and I am not at all sure about wanting them there. That is why I had a separate static info-site, and a (somewhat obscured) blog (this). But it feels distributed. And maybe I have changed in my ideas of who might hire me?

Posted in: learning log, web2.0